top of page

Ways to Breath Life Into Your Faith During This Unsettling Time


What a time to be alive, am I right? COVID-19, a virus outbreak that spread like wild fire just month 3 into the new year. With no cure, mass panic and fear created by the news as well as social media, it may seem like we don’t know where to begin with all of this. You may feel you should begin with stocking up on food, hand sanitizer, and even 8 packs of toilet paper. Well I’m here to tell you where you should start with all this mess and the answer is so simple. Jesus. While the government is slowly but surely issuing quarantines and social distancing, we are losing part of our weekly routines like church and bible studies. I’m sure most of you like me are hurt and frustrated with this virus because we feel it is distancing us from God. When I heard that people may not be allowed to gather for 2 months I was livid. I said to my husband “That means no church for 2 months?” “No small group for 2 months?” “This is insanity!” My friends I want to share with you a light of hope and encouragement in this dark time. So here are some things you can do while we wait for all of this to subside:


Tune In


Remember when I said what a time to be alive? I didn’t just mean it in a “grim times” way. Here in 2020 we have the ability to receive the word where ever we are in the world unlike our ancestors. So if your church is taking steps like video recording sermons, sending out podcasts, or even live streaming, seize the opportunity! Take this as a chance to be able to take notes at your own pace and even pause to discuss the sermon with your family.

Reach Out


Even though we may not be able to come together in person, doesn’t mean we can’t come together in spirit and in worship. With apps like the Youversion bible app, you can participate in bible studies and discuss the word with your peers. Apps like FaceTime and Skype allow us to be able to see and hear our loved ones which makes a perfect opportunity to still worship together. So reach out to someone who may feel lost and let down in all this. Be the light.


Stand Up


With social media like Facebook and Twitter constantly updating everyone, making fun of, and just talking about the virus in general, we should take this time to be different. To stand on our soap box for Jesus. Share encouraging scripture instead of the same bad news everyone else is sharing. Share the recorded sermons from your church. That being said do not mistake standing up for having to stand out. You can also stand up from the comfort of your home just by praying for the world in it’s time of need. Call on the Lord and he shall leave no stone unturned. Our God will hear our prayers and He will not let us fall.

Some Encouraging scripture


2 Timothy 1:7 - “for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.”


Philipians 4:6 - “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”

‭‭

Isaiah 41:10 - “fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Joshua 1:19 - “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go."


Deuteronomy 31:6 - “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you."”


God Bless!

0 comments

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

© 2020 by Sunny Days Ahead

bottom of page